Economic Perspectives with Hopeton Hay on KAZI 88.7 FM in Austin, TX

Archive for May, 2011

Capital Metro: Dump the Pump, Ride With Us

Posted by Hopeton on May 24, 2011

If Capital Metro is the way you roll, your story could win you an iPad2 and other great prizes in the transit agency’s Dump the Pump, Ride with Us contest.

Beginning today, May 20, through June 10, submit your creative stories, audio recordings, artwork or videos that illustrate how riding Capital Metro has “made things better”: money savings, health benefits, environmental stewardship, an awesome chance encounter, [your great reason here].

Entries may be submitted via Capital Metro’s website <http://www.capmetro.org/dumpthepump> or by mail:
“Dump the Pump”
Capital Metropolitan Transportation Authority
2910 E. 5th St.
Austin, TX 78702

Winners will be announced on National Dump the Pump Day, June 16, and the grand prize winner will receive a shiny new iPad2, a Car2Go membership and two hours of free use, three Capital Metro monthly passes, four tickets to a “Paper Cuts” concert hosted by the Austin Chronicle, and a commuter gift bag, a prize totaling $860 in value. Additional prizes will be awarded for 2nd, 3rd, and honorable mention winners.

With local gas prices hovering around $3.75 per gallon, many people are discovering the convenience and cost savings of riding Capital Metro. Capital Metro will use the great stories submitted by riders to celebrate the benefits of riding public transportation and to encourage more people to dump the pump and ride with us.

Trade ideas with other riders, get contest tips from Capital Metro, and talk about your plans for June 16, National Dump the Pump Day, on twitter: #DumpThePumpATX <http://search.twitter.com/search?q=DumpThePumpATX>

Full contest details and rules are available on capmetro.org <http://www.capmetro.org/> .

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged: | Leave a Comment »

Winning and Keeping Job Focus of May 23 Economic Perspectives

Posted by Hopeton on May 23, 2011

Paul Stoltz, co-author of  Put Your Mindset to Work: The One Asset You Really Need to Win and Keep the Job You Love, is the May 23 guest on Economic Perspectives, 5:30 p.m. – 6 p.m. central time on KAZI 88.7 FM.  Listen live online at kazifm.org.

In Put Your Mindset to Work, Stoltz  and his co-author James Reed offer a refreshing new, research-grounded formula for delivering what 96 percent of the world’s top employers reveal they really want in their employees: a winning mindset (even over the perfect skillset).

Through their pioneering research, Harvard lecturer and bestselling author Stoltz and Reed, Chairman of Europe’s leading recruitment firm, define and quantify for the first time what mindset means to employers, and reveal the three most important qualities anyone can present in a cover letter, on an interview, or in the workplace: Global (you’re able to see the big picture), Good (you do the right thing), and Grit (you won?t easily let go of a task or mission). In PUT YOUR MINDSET TO WORK, the authors describe why each of these factors is important, how the reader can assess their own competence at each, and what exercises they can employ to strengthen these aspects of their lives.

Posted in Books, Business, Employment, Interview, Radio | Tagged: , , | Leave a Comment »

Podcasts: Listen to Interviews on Surviving in Retail and Influencing People from May 16 Economic Perspectives

Posted by Hopeton on May 16, 2011

Caitlin Kelly, author of Malled: My Unintentional Career in Retail and Dr. Michael Pantalon, author of Instant Influence: How to Get Anyone to Do Anything – FAST, were guests on the May 16 edition of Economic Perspectives on KAZI 88.7 FM.  To listen to the Caitlin Kelly interview click here: Caitlin Kelly Interview.  To listen to the Michael Pantalon interview click here: Dr. Michael Pantalon Interview

Caitlin Kelly, Author of Malled

After losing her job as a journalist and the security of a good salary, Caitlin Kelly was hard up for cash. When she saw that The North Face-an upscale outdoor clothing company-was hiring at her local mall, she went for an interview almost on a whim.

Suddenly she found herself, middle-aged and mid-career, thrown headfirst into the bizarre alternate reality of the American mall: a world of low-wage workers selling overpriced goods to well-to-do customers. At first, Kelly found her part-time job fun and reaffirming, a way to maintain her sanity and sense of self-worth. But she describes how the unexpected physical pressures, the unreasonable dictates of a remote corporate bureaucracy, and the dead-end career path eventually took their toll. As she struggled through more than two years at the mall, despite surgeries, customer abuse, and corporate inanity, Kelly gained a deeper understanding of the plight of the retail worker.

In the tradition of Nickel and Dimed, Malled challenges our assumptions about the world of retail, documenting one woman’s struggle to find meaningful work in a broken system.

Dr. Michael Pantalon, Author of Instant Influence

If you want to motivate your employees to be more productive, convince your customers to use more of your products and services, encourage a loved one to engage in healthier habits, or inspire any change in yourself, renowned psychologist Dr. Michael Pantalon can show you how to achieve Instant Influence in six simple steps. Drawing on three decades of research, Dr. Pantalon’s easy-to-learn method can create changes both great and small in 7 minutes or less. This scientifically tested method succeeds in every area of work and life by helping people tap into their deeply personal reasons for wanting to change and finding a spark of “yes” within an answer that sounds like “no.”

Posted in Books, Business, Interview, Radio | Tagged: , , , | Leave a Comment »

Hedge Funds and Breakthrough Ideas Focus of May 2 Economic Perspectives

Posted by Hopeton on May 2, 2011

Sebastian Mallaby, author of More Money Than God: Hedge Funds and the Making of a New Elite, and Peter Sims, author of Little Bets: How Breakthrough Ideas Emerge from Small Discoveries, are the guests on the May 2 edition of Economic Perspectives, 5:30 p.m. – 6 p.m., on KAZI 88.7 FM.  Listen live online at kazifm.org.  The interview with Mallaby is a rerun of an interview that originally broadcast on EP on July 19, 2010.

Based on Mallaby’s unprecedented access to the industry, including three hundred hours of interviews, More Money Than God tells the inside story of hedge funds, from their origins in the 1960s and 1970s to their role in the financial crisis of 2007-2009.

Finance professors have long argued that beating the market is impossible, and yet drawing on insights from physics, economics, and psychology, hedge fund moguls have cracked the market’s mysteries and gone on to earn fortunes. Their innovation has transformed the world, spawning new markets in exotic financial instruments and rewriting the rules of capitalism.

Mallaby has been a Washington Post columnist since 1999. From 1986 to 1999, he was on the staff of The Economist, serving in Zimbabwe, London, and Japan, and as the magazine’s Washington bureau chief. He spent 2003 as a Fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations and has written for Foreign Affairs, Foreign Policy, The New York Times, and The New Republic, among others.

Little Bets

What do Apple CEO Steve Jobs, comedian Chris Rock, prize-winning architect Frank Gehry, and the story developers at Pixar films all have in common? Bestselling author Peter Sims found that all of them have achieved remarkable results using a surprisingly similar approach: methodically taking small, experimental steps. Rather than believing they have to start with a big idea or plan a whole project out in advance, trying to foresee the final outcome, they make a methodical series of little bets about what might be a good direction, learning critical information from lots of little failures and from small but significant wins that allow them to find unexpected avenues and arrive at extraordinary outcomes.

Based on deep and extensive research, Sims discovered that productive, creative thinkers and doers—from Ludwig van Beethoven to Thomas Edison and Amazon’s Jeff Bezos—practice a set of simple but often counterintuitive experimental methods—such as failing quickly to learn fast, trying imperfect ideas, and engaging in highly immersed observation—that free their minds, opening them up to making unexpected connections and perceiving invaluable insights. These methods also unshackle them from the constraints of conventional planning, analytical thinking, and linear problem solving that our educational system overemphasizes at the expense of creativity.

Peter Sims is an author, speaker, and entrepreneur.  He was the coauthor with Bill George of True North, the Wall Street Journal and BusinessWeek best-selling book.  His next book is Little Bets: How Breakthrough Ideas Emerge from Small Discoveries, from Simon & Schuster: Free Press.  Previously, he worked in venture capital with Summit Partners, a leading investment company, including as part of the team that established the firm’s London Office.

Posted in Books, Business, Interview, Radio | Tagged: , , , | Leave a Comment »